United Jewish Community of Ukraine

17th of Sivan, 5779

20 of June,
2019

Weekly Torah portion:
Бехукотай

United Jewish Community of Ukraine

Registration

910*
(mobile number)

Home Projects Activity Leaders Partnership Documents Reports Anti-semitism Contacts

17th of Sivan, 5779

20 of June,
2019

Weekly Torah portion:
Бехукотай

Anti-Semitism in Ukraine

The United Jewish Community of Ukraine monitors, fixes and prevents incidents of anti-Semitism and intolerance towards Jews in Ukraine.

Any Jew who has suffered from anti-Semitism can contact the Jewish hotline of Ukraine «910» for comprehensive assistance.

How can we help

Recording cases of anti-Semitism

UJCU monitors and records cases of anti-Semitism in Ukraine. If you are a victim or witness of such incidents, please contact the contact center «910» by number 910 (free from mobile phones) or 0 800 600 910 (free from any phone)

Legal assistance

UJCU provides primary and secondary legal assistance, which includes the preparation of applications, inquiries and complaints to public authorities, as well as the preparation of claims and representation in court (if necessary)

Psychological help

For psychological counseling, please call 910 (free from mobile phones) or 0 800 600 910 (free from any phone)

How to apply

If you encounter any manifestations of anti-Semitism, call the UJCU hotline «910» (free from a mobile phone) or 0 800 600 910 (free from any phone). Contact center operators work from 9-00 to 21-00 every day, including Saturdays. *

* The work of the contact center «910» helps in the performance of the piczah nefesh mitz (saving lives, preserving life), which is based on the words of the Torah: “Do not stand [in idle] at the sight of the blood of your neighbor” (Lev. 19:16) and formulated in the Talmud (Sanh. 73a and Yoma 85a), where it is said that it is more important than the fulfillment of many prescriptions and laws, including the prohibitions of the Sabbath and holidays - “pikuah nefesh dohe et ha-Shabat” - “saving lives detracts Saturday”

What is Anti-Semitism

In its activities, the United Jewish Community of Ukraine is guided by the international definition of anti-Semitism. We use this term for the reason that the Ukrainian regulatory and legal framework does not contain a definition of anti-Semitism, and, accordingly, the list of actions that can be qualified as its manifestations. In this regard, the UJCU fully supports the initiative of the Ambassador of Israel to Ukraine Joel Lion to adopt an international definition of anti-Semitism.

On the 27 th of June in 2016 definition of anti-Semitism was developed by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance or IHRA, which was recognized by international community. In 2017 this definition was approved by the European Parliament.

According to wording, offered by IHRA, anti-Semitism is a determined perception of Jews which is expressed in hatred towards them. Verbal and physical demonstrations of anti-Semitism are directed against Jews and nonJews and/or against their property, against Jewish communities and organizations and religious establishments.

European Forum on Anti-Semitism is the organization which systematically documents anti-Semitic incidents in Europe, relates such actions to anti-Semitism demonstrations:

Report of Anti-Semitism in Ukraine for 2018

The United Jewish Community of Ukraine published a report on anti-Semitism in Ukraine for 2018. The report presents an analysis of the legislation of Ukraine and the summary statistics of cases of anti-Semitism recorded by the UJCU in 2018. The document also contains the public reaction and recommendations of the organization to overcome manifestations of anti-Semitism in Ukraine. The full version of the report can be found at the link.

The official position of the United Jewish Community of Ukraine regarding anti-Semitism in the country is here.

Anti-Semitism in the Ukrainian legislation

As mentioned above, Ukrainian legislation does not contain a specific definition of the term “anti-Semitism”. Separate questions of counteraction and prohibition of any demonstrations of xenophobia and anti-Semitism are contained in some normative acts.

The Constitution of Ukraine of 28 June 1996 is the Fundamental Law of the country. This normative act enshrines the bases of equality of citizens’ rights, regardless of their racial or religious background.

According to the Constitution of Ukraine, citizens have equal constitutional rights and freedoms and are equal before the law. There shall be no privileges or restrictions based on race, skin colour, political, religious, and other beliefs, gender, ethnic and social origin, property status, place of residence, linguistic or other characteristics (art.25).

Criminal code of Ukraine includes two articles which can be applied in the cases of anti-Semitism demonstration.

Article 442 of the Criminal code of Ukraine defines genocide, as the act willfully committed for the purpose of total or partial destruction of any national, ethnic, racial, or religious group by extermination of members of any such group or inflicting grave bodily injuries on them, creation of life conditions calculated for total or partial physical destruction of the group, decrease or prevention of childbearing in the group, or forceful transferring of children from one group to another.

Article 161 of this code also says about violation of citizens' equality based on their race, nationality or religious preferences, disability and on other characteristics and defines it, as willful actions inciting national, racial or religious enmity and hatred, humiliation of national honor and dignity, or the insult of citizens' feelings in respect to their religious convictions, and also any direct or indirect restriction of rights, or granting direct or indirect privileges to citizens based on race, color of skin, political, religious and other convictions, sex, ethnic and social origin, property status, place of residence, linguistic or other characteristics.

Объединённая еврейская община Украины

16 Ав
5779

17 Августа
2019

Недельная глава:
Ваэтханан

Объединённая еврейская община Украины

Регистрация

910*
бесплатно с мобильного

Главная Проекты Деятельность Лидеры Состав Документы Отчеты Антисемитизм Контакты

16 Ав
5779

17 Августа
2019

Недельная глава:
Ваэтханан

Антисемитизм в Украине

Объединённая еврейская община Украины проводит мониторинг, фиксацию и предотвращение случаев проявления антисемитизма и нетерпимости к евреям в Украине.

Любой еврей, пострадавший от антисемитизма, может обратиться на еврейскую горячую линию Украины «910» для получения всесторонней помощи.

Чем мы можем помочь

Фиксация случаев проявления антисемитизма

ОЕОУ проводит мониторинг и фиксацию случаев проявления антисемитизма в Украине. Если Вы стали жертвой или свидетелем подобных инцидентов, просим обратиться в контакт-центр «910» по номерам 910 (бесплатно с мобильного) или 0 800 600 910 (бесплатно со стационарных телефонов)

Юридическая помощь

ОЕОУ предоставляет первичную и вторичную юридическую помощь, которая включает в себя подготовку заявлений, запросов и жалоб в органы государственной власти, а также подготовку исковых заявлений и представительство в суде (в случае необходимости)

Психологическая помощь

Для получения психологической консультации обратитесь по номерам еврейской горячей линии: 910 (бесплатно с мобильного) или 0 800 600 910 (бесплатно со стационарных телефонов)

Как обратиться

Если Вы столкнулись с любыми проявлениями антисемитизма - звоните на горячую линию ОЕОУ по номеру 910 (бесплатно с мобильного телефона) или 0 800 600 910 (бесплатно со стационарного). Операторы контакт-центра работают с 9-00 до 21-00 ежедневно, включая субботу.*

* Работа контакт-центра 910 помогает в исполнении мицвы «пиккуах нефеш» (спасение жизни, забота о сохранении жизни), которая основана на словах Торы: «Не стой [в бездействии] при виде крови ближнего твоего» (Лев. 19:16) и сформулирована в Талмуде (Санх. 73а и Йома 85а), где сказано, что она важнее выполнения многих предписаний и законов, включая запреты Субботы и праздников – «пикуах нефеш дохе эт га-Шабат» – «спасение жизни отстраняет Субботу».

Что такое антисемитизм?

В своей деятельности Объединенная еврейская община Украины руководствуется международным определением антисемитизма. Мы используем этот термин по причине того, что украинская нормативно-правовая база не содержит определения антисемитизма, а соответсвенно и перечня действий, которые могут быть квалифицированы, как его проявления. В связи с этим ОЕОУ полностью поддерживает инициативу Посла Израиля в Украине Джоэля Лиона принять международное определение антисемитизма.

27 июня 2016 года Международным альянсом в память о Холокосте (The International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance или IHRA) разработано определение антисемитизма, которое было признано международным сообществом. В 2017 году это определение одобрил Европарламент.

Согласно предложенной IHRA формулировке, антисемитизм - это определенное восприятие евреев, которое выражается в ненависти по отношению к ним. Словесные и физические проявления антисемитизма направлены против евреев и неевреев и/или против их собственности, против еврейских общин и организаций и религиозных учреждений.

Европейский форум по антисемитизму (European Forum on Antisemitism) - организация, которая систематически документирует антисемитские инциденты в Европе, относит к проявлениям антисемитизма такие действия:

Отчет по антисемитизму в Украине за 2018 год

Объединенная еврейская община Украины опубликовала отчет по антисемитизму в Украине за 2018 год. В отчете представлен анализ законодательной базы Украины и сводная статистика случаев антисемитизма, зафиксированных ОЕОУ в 2018 году. Также в документе приведена реакция общественности и рекомендации организации для преодоления проявлений антисемитизма в Украины. С полной версией отчета можно ознакомиться здесь.

Официальная позиция Объединенной еврейской общины Украины относительно антисемитизма в стране изложена здесь.

Антисемитизм в украинском законодательстве

Как было указано выше, украинское законодательство не содержит конкретного определения термина «антисемитизм». Отдельные вопросы противодействия и запрета любых проявлений ксенофобии и антисемитизма (как ее формы) содержатся в некоторых нормативных актах. В первую очередь это основной Закон государства - Конституция Украины. Она закрепляет основы равенства прав граждан, независимо от их расовой или религиозной принадлежности.

Согласно Конституции Украины, граждане имеют равные конституционные права и свободы и равны перед законом. Не может быть привилегий или ограничений по признакам расы, цвета кожи, политических, религиозных и других убеждений, пола, этнического и социального происхождения, имущественного состояния, местожительства, по языковым или другим признаками (ст. 25).

Также Уголовный кодекс Украины включает две статьи, которые могут быть применены в случаях проявления антисемитизма.

Статья 442 Уголовного кодекса Украины дает определение геноцида, как деяния, умышленно совершенного с целью полного или частичного уничтожения любой национальной, этнической, расовой или религиозной группы путем лишения жизни членов такой группы или причинения им тяжких телесных повреждений, создания для группы жизненных условий, рассчитанных на полное или частичное ее физическое уничтожение, сокращение деторождения или предотвращение его в такой группе или путем насильственной передачи детей из одной группы в другую.

Статья 161 Кодекса также говорит о нарушении равноправия граждан в зависимости от их расовой, национальной принадлежности, религиозных убеждений, инвалидности и по другим признакам, и определяет это, как умышленные действия, направленные на разжигание национальной, расовой или религиозной вражды и ненависти, на унижение национальной чести и достоинства или оскорбление чувств граждан в связи с их религиозными убеждениями, а также прямое или косвенное ограничение прав или установление прямых или косвенных привилегий граждан по признакам расы, цвета кожи, политических, религиозных и других убеждений, пола, инвалидности, этнического и социального происхождения, имущественного состояния, местожительства, по языковым или другим признакам.